Belmont Abbey Sets Team Record with 24 Goals

Belmont Abbey Sets Team Record with 24 Goals

The Belmont Abbey Men's Lacrosse team won in record-setting fashion this afternoon over Emmanuel (GA).  The 24-4 win was the most goals scored in a single game in Belmont Abbey Men's Lacrosse history.  The win puts the Abbey at 7-1 on the year with a 1-0 conference mark.  Emmanuel drops to 1-8 and 0-3 in conference play.

After an early goal put the Crusaders in front 1-0, Belmont Abbey scored three goals in the last four minutes of the fourth quarter.  The Abbey did not surrender a goal in the opening quarter, and took a 4-0 lead into the second.

The Lions scored two goals early in the second, but MJ Miller and Jason Hollister scored just 25 seconds apart to give the Abbey a 6-2 lead, which was the score at halftime.

The third quarter was all Abbey.  David Salter set up Devin Cruz for a goal just 38 seconds into the period.  Just 19 seconds later, Kyle McGinley made it an 8-2 game.  After that Connor Sellars scored two goals in a span of 12 seconds for a 10-2 Abbey lead.  The Crusaders scored 12 goals before the period ended and owned an 18-3 lead heading into the fourth.

In the fourth, the first Crusader goal came from Jake Telitz on a man-up opportunity.  About a minute later, Bryan DePass scored to make it a 20-3 game.  Brendan Vita capped off the win by scoring a goal with three seconds remaining in the game.

On the day Sellars led the Crusaders with three goals on just four shots on goal.  McGinley added three goals on just three shots on goal.  Belmont Abbey recorded two man-up goals.  Ten Crusaders tallied at least one assist during the contest.  The Crusaders as a unit picked up 22 ground balls to Emmanuel's 10, led by Billy Huss's nine.

Defensively, four Abbey players each caused two turnovers.  The team as a whole caused 18.  Crusaders goalies, led by Harley Whitham, made six saves on the day, as Emmanuel only got 10 shots on goal.

The Crusaders will look to continue their success in conference play when they welcome Lees-McRae on Tuesday, March 22 at 3:30 PM.