Belmont Abbey Wins Men's Lacrosse Championship

Belmont Abbey Wins Men's Lacrosse Championship

TIGERVILLE, S.C. - Adam Wiedemann scored five goals en route to being named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player, and the Belmont Abbey Crusaders won the 2018 Conference Carolinas Men's Lacrosse Championship.  The Abbey now stands at 13-4 season.  Limestone moved to 11-7.  It marks the first time since 2008 the team has won the conference championship.

Limestone scored twice early, but the Crusaders never stopped.  A Wiedemann goal in the closing minute of the opening quarter made it a 3-2 Saints lead at the end of the period.

Liam Osborne was the first to score in the second quarter, off a pass by Wiedemann.  He scored again minutes later on a man-up opportunity to give The Abbey a 4-3 advantage, its first lead of the game.  After that, the Saints scored four in a row to take a 7-4 lead with three minutes left, and that remained the score at halftime.

Belmont Abbey exploded in the third, starting with a man-down goal by Brendan McGovern.  A minute and a half later, Sean Hanrahan pulled The Abbey to within a goal at 7-6.  Then at the 10:53 mark, Wiedemann scored a goal that tied the game at seven, then scored again just 17 seconds later.  After that, Limestone scored two in a row to take a 9-8 lead.  Then a Callum Tanner goal sparked a 6-0 run by the Crusaders that went into the fourth quarter.  Wiedemann tallied a goal 2:11 left on a pass from Collin Grippo to close out the third-quarter scoring, and Belmont Abbey led 10-9.

Grippo was the first to score in the fourth.  Later, the Crusaders rattled off four goals in a 2:27 span, capped when Jason Hollister set up Hanrahan for a goal and a 14-9 Abbey lead.  Two Limestone goals made it a 14-11 lead, but the Saints would not get any closer.  Osborne scored a man-up goal, before a Limestone penalty secured the Crusaders' possession, and Belmont Abbey finished off the 15-11 victory.

After the game, faceoff specialist Dylan Harmon, attacker Liam Osborne, and goalie Harley Whitham were named to the All-Championship Team.  Wiedemann was selected Championship MVP.  He scored five goals and handed out an assist in the game.

Belmont Abbey will welcome Lindenwood (Mo.) for a 1 p.m. game on Saturday, May 5 before awaiting the NCAA Tournament selection.